“Interstellar” Wins VFX Oscar

by Graham Edwards

Cinefex 140 "Interstellar" cover

Christopher Nolan’s space epic Interstellar has won the Academy Award for Best Visual Effects at the 87th Academy Awards, in a glittering ceremony held at the Dolby Theatre, Hollywood & Highland Center on February 22, 2015.

The award was collected by Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher in recognition of the ground-breaking visual effects images created by Double Negative, with on-set special effects orchestrated by Scott Fisher, and other practical effects – notably a suite of large-scale spacecraft miniatures – by New Deal Studios.

Complete list of nominees:

  • Interstellar – Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher
  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist

You can read the full story behind Interstellar‘s award-winning visual effects in Cinefex 140. Oh, and while you’re at it, why not catch up on the rest of the nominated films in our previous two issues – links below.