VFX Nominations Announced for 92nd Academy Awards

by Graham Edwards

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced this year’s nominations for achievement in visual effects. The nominations are:

  • Avengers: Endgame
    • Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick
  • The Irishman
    • Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli
  • The Lion King
    • Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman
  • 1917
    • Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker
    • Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy

All five nominees have received – or will shortly be receiving – the full Cinefex treatment, with in-depth articles featuring interviews with all the Oscar-nominated teams. We covered Avengers: Endgame in Cinefex 165, and The Lion King in Cinefex 166. Our article on The Irishman is in our December 2019 issue, Cinefex 168 and Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker is coming along in Cinefex 169, our 40th Anniversary issue which is out February and available to pre-order now. Look out for our coverage of 1917 early in 2020.

The 92nd Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 9, 2020, at the Dolby® Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center® in Hollywood. The ceremony will be televised live on ABC at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

One thought on “VFX Nominations Announced for 92nd Academy Awards

  1. Pingback: AOTG.com - Post Production News, Websites, Articles, Videos, Blogs & More! For Film and Video, Editing, VFX, Sound, Colour, and Animation

Comments are closed.